Each open conversation can only be viewed from its related issue. If a user contacts you using any of the methods mentioned here, the conversation will appear in the chats page of your dashboard.
Let's say a user reported a bug, and you wanted to acknowledge the user, letting them know that a fix is on the way. You can do this by reaching out to the user directly from the bug report using the View Conversation button.
Once the chat is shown, you can start messaging your user without ever having to leave the bugs page. By default, your users will receive an in-app notification then an email if they miss the notification.
A handy way of knowing if there are any unread messages would be to check the icon next to the bug in the bugs list. There are 4 different representations for the chat related to a bug.
- No icon: there is no chat ongoing with the customer
- Grey with arrow: you have replied to this user (you sent the last message in the chat)
- Blue icon with red dot: you have a new unread message from the user
- Blue icon only: you read the message but didn't reply (the user sent the last message)